Toys- Year 1- Term 2





The United Kingdom

The United Kingdom is made up of 4 countries:

- England
- Scotland
- Wales
- Northern Ireland

Seas

The United Kingdom is surrounded by water.

These are:

The English Channel

The North Sea

The Irish Sea

The Seasons

We divide the year into four seasons:

spring, summer, autumn, and winter.

Each season lasts 3 months. Summer is the warmest season, winter is the coldest, and spring and autumn lie in between.

Weather in the UK



<u>Weather</u>

We can describe the weather using symbols. These are:

Sunny - a sunny symbol. Particle cloudy - a sunny symbol partly hidden by a cloud.

Cloudy - a cloud symbol. Windy - a cloud with swirling lines.

Rainy - a cloud with rain drops below it. Thunderstorm - a cloud

Thunderstorm - a cloud with rain drops below it and a lightning bolt.

What do you remember?

- What are our 4 seasons?
- Which 4 countries make up the United Kingdom?



Vocabulary	A = = Z
United Kingdom	The United Kingdom is made up of 4 countries,
Great Britain	England, Wales, Scotland and Northern Ireland. Great Britain is made up of England, Scotland, and Wales.
Мар	A map shows an area of land or sea showing physical features like cities and roads.
England, Wales, Scotland and Northern Ireland	Are countries that make up the United Kingdom. Northern Ireland is not part of mainland UK
Capital Cities	A capital city is where the region's government is located.
Seasons	The seasons are four different times during the year with different types of weather. The four seasons are called spring, summer, autumn, and winter.
Weather	Describes what the conditions are like in a particular place. Eg. sunny, raining, hailing, snowing
Human features	This focuses on where people live, what they do and how they use the land.
Physical features	Study of the Earth's natural features.



